Collection: Congo Congolese Franc Banknotes

The information about Congo.

Congo is a country that lies within Central Africa. At 905,567 square miles, Congo is the second-largest in its region, also the 11th largest in the world. Kinshasa is the capital and largest city of Congo. France is the official language of this country. The unit of currency of Congo is the Congolese Franc (CDF).

The history of the Congolese Franc.

The first Congolese Franc (CDF) was introduced in 1887 aimed to be used in the Independence State of Congo. In 1916, some countries started using the Congolese Franc including Katanga, and the country of Rwanda and Burundi. However, a few years later, these countries started producing their own money.

The Franc banknote series was introduced by the Independent State of Congo in 1896 and available in denominations of only 10 and 100 francs. In 1912, new denominations were introduced by the Bank of Belgian Congo and available at 20 and 1 000 francs. In 1914, the 1, 5, and 100 francs notes were added. Followed by the 500 francs in 1941, and 10 000 francs in 1942.

In 1961, a new series of the Congolese Franc banknote was introduced involving 20, 50, 100, 500, and 1 000 francs. These were issued until 1964.

In 1967, after declaring independence, Congo had decided to replace the Franc and had established a new currency called Zaire. It lasted until 1997 when the Congolese Franc was reintroduced. The denominations of this banknote are 1, 5, 10, 20, 50 centimes, and 1, 5, 10, 20, 50, 100 francs. The 200 and 500 francs notes were added in the 2000s. In 2012, larger denomination banknotes were added including 1 000, 5 000, 10 000, and 20 000 francs. To prevent counterfeiting the watermark was embedded repeatedly on these banknotes.

1 product
  • Congo Set of 4 Pcs 10-20-50-100 Franc
    Congo Democratic Republic Banknotes / Uncirculated Congo Set of 4 Pcs 10-20-50-100 Franc
    Regular price
    Sale price
    Regular price
    Unit price
    Sold out