Collection: Libya Dinar Banknotes

The information about Libya.

Libya is a country located in North Africa and borders the Mediterranean Sea to the north. The total area of Libya is 700,000 square miles which makes Libya the 16th largest country in the world. Tripoli is the capital and largest city of Libya. The official language in Libya is Arabic.

The history of the Libyan Dinar Banknotes.

In 1951, after gaining independence the Libyan had introduced its official currency called the pound. However, 20 years later, the Central bank of Libya was founded, which led to establishing the new currency called Dinar (LD).

The Dinar’s first banknote denomination was at ¼, ½, 1, 5, and 10 dinars notes. On 15 May 1980, the new banknote denomination of dinar was issued. These are available at 5 dinars and 10 dinars notes. The government had demanded the citizens of Libyan had only one week to exchange all their old denominations in the central bank of Libya branches.

In 2002, 20s dinar notes were combined to the denomination. On 27 August 2008, 50 dinars notes were introduced. In 2012, 50 dinars notes were stopped printing.

In 2013, a new design on 1 dinar notes was issued with Anti-Gaddafi protestors in the front, and the flag of Libya and the peace doves on the reversed side. On March 31, 2013, the Central Bank of Libya had announced a new denomination of 20 dinars banknotes. Followed by June 2013 the 50 dinars banknotes.

1 product
  • Libya Set of 5 Pcs 1-5-10-20-50 Dinar
    Libya Banknotes / Uncirculated Libya Set of 5 Pcs 1-5-10-20-50 Dinar
    Regular price
    Sale price
    Regular price
    Unit price
    Sold out