Collection: Macedonia Denari Banknotes

The information about Macedonia.

North Macedonia is a landlocked country and lies within Southeast Europe. At 9,928 square miles, North Macedonia is ranked 145th of its total area. Skopje is the largest and also the capital of this country. The official languages are Macedonian and Albanian. The Macedonian Denar is the current currency.

The history of the Macedonian Denar.

The Macedonian Denar was introduced on 26 April 1992 by the Republic of Macedonia. It aims to replace the Yugoslav dinar and declare its monetary independence.

About a year later, the first national currency of this country was officially issued. The first Macedonian Denar banknote was created temporarily to cease Yugoslav dinar’s users. It was called the “value coupons”. The series of the first denomination was available at 10, 25, 50, 100, 500, 1 000, 5 000, 10 000 denari. The progress to create this banknote was within a week and with a small budget. Therefore, they were printed on inferior paper and there was the same design in the 6 lowest denominations, featuring a picture of a man and two women who pick up tobacco leaves on the front side and the Makedonium monument in Krusevo on the reverse. However, they were soon being replaced.

The second banknote series was introduced in May 1993 including 10, 20, 50, 100, and 500 denari. Later in 1996, the 1 000 and 5 000 denari were added. In 2016, the 200 and 2 000 denari were added, likewise, the 5 000 denari have retreated as a result of the re-balance of the government. More features were added. Most importantly, on May 15, 2017, the 10 and 50 denari started printing on a polymer material.

1 product
  • Macedonia Set of 2 Pcs 10-50 Denari
    North Macedonia Banknotes / Uncirculated Macedonia Set of 2 Pcs 10-50 Denari
    Regular price
    Sale price
    Regular price
    Unit price
    Sold out