Collection: Myanmar Kyat Banknotes

The information of Myanmar.

Myanmar is a country that lies in Southeast Asia, it borders the Andaman Sea and the Bay of Bengal to its South. The total area of Myanmar is 261,228 square miles. Its capital city is Naypyidaw and its largest city is Yangon. The official language is Burmese.

The history of Myanmar Kyat.

The kyat (MMK) was introduced firstly in gold and silver types in 1852.

Until 1942, the kyat was replaced with a currency that was based on the Indian Rupee and was forgotten quickly after the Burma State Bank reintroduced the banknote denomination of kyat in 1944. These were available in 1, 5, 10, and 100 kyat notes and another 100 kyat notes were issued in 1945. However, the Kyat was devalued after the war and the Burmese Rupee was re-established into circulation in 1945.

The current Kyat in circulation was introduced on July 1, 1952, after the Union Bank of Burma took over control of the government. The new banknote denominations of 1, 5, 10, and 100 kyats were issued on 12 February 1958. Followed by 21 January 1958, the 20 kyats and 50 kyats notes were introduced. Its features were similar to the Burmese Rupee. These were designed with a portrait of the famous Burmese politician Bogyoke Aung San. Also, these banknotes are the first attempt against black marketeering.

1 product
  • Myanmar Set of 7 Pcs 0.5-1-5-10-20-50-100 Kyat
    Myanmar Banknotes / Uncirculated Myanmar Set of 7 Pcs 0.5-1-5-10-20-50-100 Kyat
    Regular price
    Sale price
    Regular price
    Unit price
    Sold out